Skip to navigation – Site map

Nord-Asie 5 | 2015
L'appel du bonheur

Le partage alimentaire mongol
The call for happiness. Mongolian food sharing
L'appel du bonheur
Sandrine Ruhlmann
ISBN 979-10-92-565-30-0

 For Mongolian people, sharing food goes far beyond than merely feeding. By a set of “opening” and “closing”, for everyday life or for special events, in the family circle or with visitors, the fact of sharing food ensures the good order of social relationships. It ensures also the good order of seasonal rhythm and of human life cycle. It therefore attracts happiness to humans and their herds.
Between 2000 and 2015, Sandrine Ruhlmann has lived long months in the Mongolian steppe and in the city. She describes and analyses in detail the existing food system. She recognizes in this latter intermingled ideas and values inherited from Shamanism, Buddhism, and from Communist ideology. Through the meat on bone, the fermented milk, the ravioli, or the odd soleshoe-shaped pastries a way of thinking and of living is revealed.

Sandrine Ruhlmann is an anthropologist, and Doctor of the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales. She was Postdoctoral Fellow at the Laboratoire d’Anthropologie Sociale (EHESS-CNRS-Collège de France) and she works currently at Labex Structurations des Mondes Sociaux (LISST-CAS), where she studies the animal diseases perception and management in Mongolia.

  • Logo École pratique des hautes études
  • Revues.org

Navigation – Plan du site

Nord-Asie 5 | 2015
L'appel du bonheur

Le partage alimentaire mongol
The call for happiness. Mongolian food sharing
L'appel du bonheur
Sandrine Ruhlmann
ISBN 979-10-92-565-30-0

 Pour les Mongols, partager de la nourriture, c’est bien plus et bien autre chose que se nourrir. En famille ou avec des visiteurs, au quotidien ou lors d’événements, le partage garantit, par un jeu d’« ouverture » et de « fermeture », le bon ordre des relations sociales, du déroulement des saisons et du cycle de la vie humaine. Il attire ainsi le « bonheur » sur les humains et leurs troupeaux.
Sandrine Ruhlmann, qui a vécu de longs mois en Mongolie de 2000 à 2015, tant dans la steppe qu’en ville, décrit et analyse en détail le système alimentaire actuel. Elle y reconnaît, entremêlées, des idées et des valeurs héritées du chamanisme, du bouddhisme et de l’idéologie communiste. À travers la viande sur l’os, le lait fermenté, les raviolis ou les gâteaux-semelle, c’est toute une façon de penser et de vivre qui se révèle.

Sandrine Ruhlmann est anthropologue, docteur de l’École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales. Post-doctorante au Laboratoire d’Anthropologie Sociale (EHESS-CNRS-Collège de France) et actuellement au Labex Structurations des Mondes Sociaux (LISST-CAS), elle travaille sur la perception et la gestion des maladies animales en Mongolie.

  • Logo École pratique des hautes études
  • Revues.org